I am Author: The First Year

Iheadshot2t has been a year since I published my first book. That is a scary statement (in that I wish I could have done so much more in that year), but also an exciting statement, in that it gives me reason to sit back and look over what I’ve accomplished. It has been stressful trying to meet deadlines, exhilarating to watch my sales go up and heartfelt reviews come in, and amazing to meet so many outstanding writers and other people in the industry, many of which I now consider friends.

As a quick recap:

Books: Just look at Amazon, B&N, iBooks, or Kobo. I think the list of ‘assets’ is around nineteen. I definitely didn’t think I’d get so many books out there in my first year. And many of these are audiobooks, of which I sold about 300 – not an amazing number, but it’s enough to take down a large army (if they’re attacking Greece anyway). Books sold more, but it wasn’t amazing. My next year I hope to change that. The best performer was definitely Creative Writing Career, which held the number 1 spot for about a 1.5 months, up there with the greats like Syd Field’s Screenplay and books like Save the Cat. I was very honored! Today it looks like it’s at number 12, which I’m happy enough with as well.  Oh, and today we launched Creative Writing Career 2 for preorder!

Podcasts: A few months back Joe Crane found me and asked if I would be on his podcast. I loved it so much, I soon started appearing on several other podcasts. One of those was the Self Publishing Podacst, with Sean Platt, Johnny B. Truant, and Dave Wright. These guys were amazing, and because of that podcast other people started reaching out to me – which led to a couple writing partnerships and my becoming a co-host on the Self Publishing Answers podcast, with Kevin Tumlinson and Nick Thacker. I love chatting with these guys about the world of publishing and everything that this involves. I can’t wait to see where that will take us!

Partnerships: As mentioned above, partnerships abounded. Some folks I have to mention include Stephan Bugaj, Allen Warner, Michael La Ronn, Kevin Tumlinson, Nick Thacker, Sean Platt, and Johnny B. Truant. I’m sure I will develop more amazing relationships in the near future, and can’t wait to share with you all the fruits of our labor!

Other: Telltale Games has been kind to me. I started writing because of my love of the Song of Ice and Fire books (Game of Thrones), and at Telltale I had the opportunity to work on the Game of Thrones game! I also got to work with some amazing writers (internal and contract), and also worked on Tales from the Borderlnads, Minecraft: Story Mode, and Walking Dead: Michonne. Talk about a great time! I learned a lot about myself and the craft of writing here, more than I ever could have just writing on my own.

There is so much more going on in my mind right now, and I have an insane list of projects ongoing and even more that I want to get to this next year. I promise it will be a bumpy road, full of excitement for all. Stay tuned!

Best,

Justin

P.S. If you want the inside scoop, free stories (including Creative Writing Career and Back by Sunrise, and more – join my author list. 

4 thoughts on “I am Author: The First Year

  1. I think what you’ve accomplished in just a year is absolutely ASTOUNDING! I’m glad and very excited to be working with you, man. Your next year is going to be absolutely amazing. I have a feeling there’s a lot I should be learning from you, so it’s probably best to keep you close!

    • Thank you, Kevin! Glad to have you on my side 🙂 You mentor me, I’ll one day mentor you, and we can just leap frog on and on.

  2. I am a HUGE fan of the ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ series and Game of Thrones. Among other fantasy-based things. I wanted to know what the novel you made is titled, and if i could possibly create a world like George R. R. Martin’s and have such a huge fanbase. I have stared on many other stories and may get my name out there with those first but it seems really hard. I am stuck trying to figure out how to reconfigure the fantasy genre kind of. I have this big emphasis on it being realism with other factors. I ALSO want a imminent threat and making a army of the undead is beyond copyright. Especially since i’m thinking about adding Houses, a wolf-based military, numerous POV’s, and other things. I don’t want to copyright or anything. The ideas are just so good and it seems really hard to come up with something that is truly original. Help?

Leave a Reply

